Free Isotone concert

Special Event
Clayton Performing Arts Center at Pellissippi State

Isotone celebrates the intersection of Music and Science.

Musicians participating in the concert include graduates from both Juilliard School and Indiana School of Music.  At the core is the Cumberland Piano Trio, including Susan Eddlemon, violin, Dan Allcott, cello and Emi Kagawa, piano.  Joining the trio are percussionists Larry Spivack and Scott Eddlemon and guitarist Adam Schneider.

Celebrated Canadian Composer Janet Danielson composed “Six Pieces of a Reverberant Cosmos” for Isotone in 2014.  The work is based on “The Book of the Cosmos: Imagining the Universe from Heraclitus to Hawking” by renowned Canadian author Dennis Danielson.  The composition will be presented along with a series of short readings by the author.
The second half of the concert moves from the mind to the lab, presenting tributes to the neutron research facilities of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  The first work is “Spallation Quartet” by New York composer Larry Spivack.  The work premiered a year ago at the ORNL Spallation Neutron Source auditorium and was streamed live around the world.  Spivack joins forces with New York composer and guitarist, Adam Schneider to compose “High Flux Isotope Reactor” which will receive its Oak Ridge premiere, and includes special audience participation.

35.9472021, -84.1661082